8/26/2009

trying to be a college kid

so i'm staying up solely because i can :) it's great to be in college, making your own schedule and dealing with the consequences of your own actions (aka i'm gonna feel really tired tomorrow and not want to go to work).

update on the life:
-done with my first and last community college classes. learned more in one class than in 36 at ucla. man... don't want to admit it but the prof was from usc...
-living with sophie min is a new adventure everyday. i never know what to expect and it makes everyday interesting. sometimes i just want to be in her prescence to see what she'll say/do/think aloud/sing next. it's only confirmed my suspicions that she's an amazing, wonderful, woman of God. the man who marries her will be extremely lucky.
-living in an apartment is AMAZING. i loveeee it. it's so much better than the dorms. it's so nice to be able to have a carpeted apartment. i can do sit-ups on the floor now and not be grossed out. simple joys of life.
-starting to go running regularly again. it's so funny how running only three days in a row will jog your muscle memory. today it was so much easier to run the same distance as i ran three days ago.
-gonna take a week vacation starting this saturday. plan to have lots of good God-time, hang out with the fam, and not go on facebook. hopefully that will last the entire week :)
-learning how to cook. failing a lot (burnt veggies, really sweet/salty veggies, overcooked meats, soggy rice), but also some good #2 attempts :) i can't wait to go home and bring back baking material; i think it's so much harder to fail when it comes to baking...
-working full time is not as bad as i thought. days start going back a lot faster but it's nice to not have to think about work after work :) unlike school which is pretty much neverending.

random thoughts:
-I don't miss China. But it's weird. I know i'm going to go back. sneaky how God snuck this whole "life-long missionary" thing on me...
-Felt like I never left the States when I came back. no culture shock at all. except when i was at smc and realized how DIVERSE Los Angeles was. craziness. no mexicanos en chino!!!
-i like talking about china. hahaha today mi boss said i was "Beijinger". ya right, i wish. but it's really funny teaching my latino co-workers random phrases in Cantonese and Mandarin.
-i'm losing my chinese. and slowly gaining my korean. will be so screwed if i end up taking classical chinese in the fall and then korean in the winter/spring (ATTEMPT 2!!! will be so much better than attempt 1. i speak it out in faith.)
-even though I'm not an amazing writer, it's sooooo therapuetical for me to type/write things down. helps me process stuff.
-me having a car = me offering everyone rides. i think i've driven to the airport at least 8 timesthis past summer. no wonder my mom wants me to leave the car in norcal :)
-i still have no idea what i'm going to do with the rest of my life, specifically after i graduate. and for some weird reason (read:GOD) i'm not worried about it.
-God is really really crazy good. ask me more about it :) too much to write here.

woohoo! it's 2:45am. but i'm crashing, getting old. i couldn't even finish a whole diddy riese's cookies 2 days ago :( sadddddd. taste buds are growing up with me.

oh yah it was great turning 21. pc fam loves me so, even after being gone for a whole year. drank some wine. don't like the taste of alcohol found out. as well as several other discoveries... haha :) oh man.. only in pc...

gonna go fall asleep on my fav couch. it's tons more comfy than the mattress i sleep on. gonna miss it when i move out in a couple of days...

much love :)
~b3rn

No comments: